Friday, October 17, 2008

Philippine Collegiate Championships 2008

Let me explain this in a manner that hopefully everyone will understand. There are teams seeded in the Philippine Collegiate Championships and these are the champions of the UAAP, NCAA, NAASCU, UCAA, CESAFI and CUSA so that's six teams. Also seeded are the runner up of the UAAP and NCAA which makes the seeded players already eight. This year the teams that are already seeded are the Ateneo Blue Eagles and DLSU Green Archers, the San Beda Red Lions and JRU Heavy Bombers, the San Sebastian de Cavite Baycats, Universal College of Nursing Dragons, the University of Visayas Green Lancers and the MLQU Stallions.

The other teams that will fill out the remaining eight slots will come from the four zonals. The top two teams in each of the four zonals will qualify to the Sweet 16. The teams that made it to the zonals are the following:

Zone 1 – St. Louis University, Champion-Ilocos/Baguio; University of Luzon, Champion-Pangasinan/Pampanga; Mapua Cardinals, NCAA fourth placer; Arellano University Chiefs, Fr. Martin Cup; Lyceum University-Batangas, NCAA-South runner-up; and University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers, Wild Card Qualifier.

Zone 2University of Nueva Caceres Greyhounds, Champion-Quezon/Bicol; Don Bosco College-Mandaluyong, Champion-NCAA-South; University of the East Warriors, UAAP fourth placer; and Lyceum of the Philippines Pirates, Emilio Aguinaldo College Generals and St. Claire College Saints, Wild Card Qualifiers.

Zone 3 – BIT International College Cruisers, Champion-Bohol/Dumaguete; AMA Computers Titans, Champion-Ormoc/Tacloban; University of San Jose Recoletos Jaguars, CESAFI runner-up; Letran College, NCAA third placer; University of Cebu Webmasters, Wild Card Qualifier; and Bacolod/Iloilo Champion (ongoing regional finals at Bacolod).

Zone 4 – Xavier University Crusaders, Champion-Cagayan de Oro; University of Mindanao Wildcats, Champion-Davao/GenSan; Ateneo de Zamboanga, Champion-Zamboanga provinces; University of San Carlos Warriors - 3rd placer Cesafi,Far Eastern University-UAAP 3rd placer

Again the top two teams for each zone will make it to the Sweet 16. My bet goes for UST and Arellano for Zone 1, UE and Lyceum for Zone 2, while Letran and USJ Recoletos will most likely make it in Zone three while FEU and University of San Carlos are my bets for Zone 4. Teams that may make a few surprises are Mapua, University of Cebu and Xavier University.

No comments: