Tuesday, October 4, 2016

STI Talent Search 2016 Grand National Finals

The STI 33rd Anniversary celebration had its culminating event with the staging of the National Finals of the STI Talent Search 2016 at the Enchanted Kingdom last September 30, 2016. The local finals of this competition was done the whole month of August networkwide and the Cluster finals during the first week of September. Winners of the cluster finals in nine areas nationwide qualified for the right to compete at the Enchanted Kingdom's Enchanting Events Place.

Twenty Three Thousand STI students trooped to  the Enchanted Kingdom and the picture above was the scene at the Enchanting Events Place where all the competitions were held. Up for grabs were bragging rights to become the Battle of the Bands Champion, STI Singing Idol, Hataw Sayaw Dance Champions and the Mr. and Ms. STI 2016 winners.

The event started with last year's STI Idol 2nd Runner-up Celi rose Ann Torrente singing the Invocation song "You Raise me up"  The battle of the bands immediately followed.

The very energetic Aina Roxas of STI College Sta. Maria  belts out their winning song "Sinong Baliw" as Sistemang Musikal came out as the Battle of the Bands champion. 

Judy Ann Baricaua of STI College Global City came out with the best version of the song "Bukas na lang kita Mamahalin" which was  enough to give her the title of STI Singing Idol of 2016.

Last year, the Balaraw dance group won the Hataw Sayaw title with a new crew at hand. This year, they did it again as more fresh faces replaced last year's winners and their new group still came out as the best dancers of the STI Network. The Balaraw dance group has won four of the last five stagings of the Hataw Sayaw dance competition. 

Leading the powerhouse gallery of Judges is former Filscap Corporate Secretary and former GMA Executive Kedy Sanchez (in Blue), the soul siren NINA and the very first STI singing Idol Anthony Abasolo. Not in picture are the other two judges Bimbo Yance (formerly of True Faith) and Mcoy Fundales (formerly of Orange and Lemons). 

Battle of the Bands Judges Bimbo Yance (left), Kedy Sanchez and Mcoy Fundales (2nd from right) join yours truly in giving the Sistemang Musikal their trophy, medals and prizes as Battle of the Bands Champions. 

The first STI Singing Idol, 2004 winner, Anthony Abasolo (left) joins the other judges, the Master of ceremonies Christopher Maque (right) of the STI Head office,  and yours truly in awarding Ms. Judy Ann Baricaua of STI College Global City her medal, trophy and prizes for being the 2016 STI Singing Idol.

The Balaraw Dance group receive their trophy, medals and prizes as this year's Hataw Sayaw Dance Competition champions. Awarding them their prizes are the judges (L-R) Jhester Vanz Barbaso, Rynee Ruth Aribal, Via Antonio and Bernice Palma.

During the break, STI 's Vice- President for  Academic Services, Lloyd Bautista, is interviewed by  ABS-CBN about the event.

Mr. and Ms. STI candidates pose as they are awarded the first set of awards From left to right:
Jasper Christian Maraggay of STI College Caloocan (Student's Choice Award, Cherry Prepaid Choice Award) Clea Isabel Magnaye of STI College Cubao (Cherry Prepaid Choice Award) Roberto Lopez of STI College ORCA (Maui & Sons choice awardee) Sophia Maria Rocha of STI College Marikina(Student's Choice, Facebook Favorite, Maui & Sons choice awardee) Christer Troy Regis of STI College Dasmarinas (Best in Casual Wear) Aubrey Giezel Mendoza of STI College Baliuag (Best in Casual Wear)) Paul Jibrielle Pilao of STI College San Fernando(Victo Rio Male Discovery of the year) Nicole Ann Caraang (STI College Balagtas (Victo Rio Female Discovery of the year) and Jerson Nolasco of STI College Global City (Facebook Favorite)

Mr. and Ms. STI candidates pose as they are awarded the second set of awards From left to right: 
Jasper Christian Maraggay of STI College Caloocan 
(SOS Face of Confidence Award) 
Aubrey Giezel Mendoza of STI College Baliuag 
(SOS Face of Confidence Award) 
Michio Eusebio of STI College Meycauayan (Best in Sports Wear) and Queen Jubilee Mongcupa of STI Collegte Munoz-EDSA (Best in Sports Wear)

 A welcome treat to all dancers, here is former PBB Guest Mikee Agustin dancing with her boyfriend Yexel Sebastian who surprised the crowd with his cameo appearance on the dance floor.

Roberto Lopez of STI College Ortigas-Cainta and Queen Jubilee Mongcupa of STI College Muñoz-EDSA pose with Formal wear sponsor Robert Zamora as they are presented with the Best in Formal Wear award.

The Top 5 Male Finalists:
From left to right:
Roberto Lopez (STI College Ortigas-Cainta)
Michio Eusebio (STI College Meycauayan)
Jasper Christian Maraggay (STI College Caloocan)
Christer Troy Regis (STI College Dasmariñas)
Paul Jibrielle Pilao (STI College San Fernando)

The Top 5 FEMALE finalists
From Left to right:
Camille Alfonso (STI College Sta. Cruz)
Clea Isabel Magnaye (STI College Cubao)
Jadilyn Morales (STI College Malolos)
Aubrey Giezel of STI College Baliuag
Queen Mongcupa (STI College Muñoz-EDSA) 

Direct from their successful concert a week before the event, ABS-CBN's all male group, the Hashtags, graced the occasion to the delight of the crowd that run berserk the moment they came out.

The Winners (Left to Right)
4th  Runner-up: Roberto Lopez 
3rd Runner-up: Paul Jibrielle Pilao 
2nd Runner-up:  Jasper Christian Maraggay 
1st Runner-up: Michio Eusebio 

The Winners (Left to Right)
4th  Runner-up: Queen Jubilee Mongcupa 
3rd Runner-up: Camille Angelica Alfonso 
2nd Runner-up:  Aubrey Giezel Mendoza 
1st Runner-up: Jadilyn Morales

Of course the event is not complete without yours truly taking a picture with all the winners. 
Congratulations everyone.

Special thanks to 
Goodshot photography 
and Ian Siongco for the wonderful pictures

No comments: